Department of Physics


Welcome to the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics of Chittagong University of Engineering & Technology has a strong commitment to both teaching and research excellence. The Department of Physics has started journey as a independent department since 1968. The Department of Physics design courses theoretical and practical to equip undergraduate students to develop the basic scientific skills so they may succeed in modern-day high-value-added society. The department introduced postgraduate program Master of Philosophy (M. Phil.) in the year 2001-2002.The department also introduced Ph. D. program in Physics in the year 2009-2010. The Department is committed to excellent research programs within its funding limitation. We focus our resources onto selected research areas to ensure an output of world-class research. Currently, the main research areas in the Department are the condense matter physics and Medical Physics. Recently, steps have been taken to establish research collaboration with the department of Physics of Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology (BUET) and Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission (BAEC).

Department of Physics has started intake students in MSc program from 2017-18 session. Prospective students are welcome to our MSc program along with MPhil and PhD. 

Dr. Mohammad Belal Hossen